Awards, Honors & Recognition Winter 2022

The latest School of Public Health faculty awards and recognition, Winter 2022.

Sara Becker Ph.D.

Behavioral and Social Sciences

beckerNIDA MERIT Award

Becker was selected by the National Institute on Drug Abuse to receive a prestigious Method to Extend Research in Time (MERIT) award for her new grant “Improving Outcomes of Adolescents in Residential Substance Use Treatment via a Technology-Assisted Parenting Intervention.” She is the 9th recipient of an NIH MERIT award, the second health services researcher, the first implementation scientist, and the first woman so awarded at Brown University since the program began in 1986.

Richard Besdine MD

Health Services, Policy and Practice

besdineCharles “Bud” Kahn, MD, Lifetime Leadership Award

For his “outstanding leadership over a lifetime of service” Dr. Besdine was awarded the Charles “Bud” Kahn, MD, Lifetime Leadership Award by the Miriam Hospital Medical Staff Association. The award recognizes a physician who “exemplifies professionalism” through “collaboration, cooperation, commitment, and integrity.”

Ashish K. Jha MD, MPH

Health Services, Policy and Practice

jhaMeeting the Moment for Public Health Award

Dean Jha was honored with this Johnson & Johnson Research!America award for “playing a key role in communicating public health information and developments to members of the public” and for his “masterful ability and tireless commitment to conveying key information about COVID-19 to a wide array of audiences.”

Rhode Island Public Health Association Awards

John Fulton Ph.D.

Behavioral and Social Sciences

fultonJohn E. Fogarty Award

This award was presented for Fulton’s research focused on cancer risks and cancer control interventions, especially on women’s cancer screening programs.

Brandon Marshall Ph.D.


marshall2021 Public Health Champion Award

Founding director of the People, Place & Health Collective, Marshall received this award for his work improving the health of people who use drugs.

Amy Nunn Sc.D.

Behavioral and Social Sciences

marshallMeritorious Program Award

Nunn, together with Dr. Philip Chan, accepted this award on behalf of Open Door Health, RI’s first and only primary and sexual health clinic dedicated to serving the LGBTQ+ community.

Leadership Updates

Melissa Clark Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Education

clarkDean Clark’s new title is reflective of the growing role of education at our School, including the growth of the student body, increased diversity in the types of programs and students served by the School, and plans for new strategic priorities, educational programing, and focus areas in the School. Dean Clark’s office serves students throughout their educational journeys at SPH—from recruitment to career services.

Jennifer Nazareno Ph.D.

Associate Director, Online MPH Program

nazarenoIn this new role, Nazareno will provide academic and intellectual leadership for Brown’s new online MPH program, including curricular design, applied learning and capstone experiences, and co-curricular student support. She will lead this global initiative, enabling the School to expand its training to a broader community of accomplished students committed to addressing public health.

Megan Ranney MD, MPH’10

Academic Dean

ranneyAs the School’s inaugural Academic Dean, Dr. Ranney will serve as the chief academic officer of the School and a key member of its leadership team. She will work in collaboration with the other SPH deans, department chairs, and center directors to oversee the School’s educational efforts, research enterprise, community engagement, and faculty affairs, carrying out a shared vision for the School and representing SPH both within and beyond the University.