Faculty Honors Spring 2019

The Latest School of Public Health Faculty Awards & Recognition, Spring 2019

Anya Rader Wallack Ph.D.

Department of Health Services, Policy and Practice

wallackBoard of the Institute for Clinical and Economic Review

Dr. Wallack was elected to the board of the ICER, an independent, non-partisan research organization that objectively evaluates the clinical and economic value of prescription drugs, medical tests, and other health care and health care delivery innovations, and convenes key stakeholders to translate evidence into policy that leads to a more effective, efficient, and just health care system.

Simin Liu MD, Sc.D.

Department of Epidemiology

liuHonorary Adjunct Professorship at the Chinese National Center for Cardiovascular Diseases

The award, given at the 2018 China Heart Congress on behalf of the National Cardiovascular Center and Fuwai Hospital, recognizes Dr. Liu’s significant contribution in the establishment of the National Center and in the training of public health scientists, as well as his scientific achievements in the science of medicine and public health.

Josiah Rich MD, MPH

Department of Epidemiology

richNational Academy of Medicine

Dr. Josiah “Jody” Rich was one of 75 new members elected to the 2018 class of the National Academy of Medicine. Members are chosen for what is regarded as one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine based on their “outstanding professional achievements and commitment to service.” Since joining the Brown faculty in 1994, Dr. Rich has focused on addressing health disparities, particularly among prisoners and people involved in the criminal justice system.

Maureen Phipps MD, MPH

Department of Epidemiology

phippsPresident-elect of the American Gynecological & Obstetrical Society

The American Gynecological & Obstetrical Society advances the health of women by providing dedicated leadership and promoting excellence in research, education, and medical practice. The AGOS is an organization comprised of individuals attaining national prominence in scholarship in the discipline of obstetrics, gynecology, and women’s health. Dr. Phipps’ term will begin in September 2019.

Patricia Cioe Ph.D.

Department of Behavioral and Social Sciences

cioeThe Association of Nurses in AIDS Care Researcher Recognition Award

The ANAC is the leading nursing organization responding to HIV/AIDS. This award recognizes an outstanding ANAC member who has made a significant contribution through research to advancing nursing science as it relates to the health and well-being of individuals living with or affected by HIV. Cioe, a nurse practitioner and HIV primary care provider, was honored for her work on cardiovascular risk reduction in people living with HIV.

Sara Becker Ph.D.

Department of Behavioral and Social Sciences

beckerThe Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Dissemination and Implementation Science Special Interest Group Early Career Achievement Award

The Dissemination and Implementation Science Special Interest Group of the ABCT promotes research on how to better disseminate and implement evidence based practices by behavioral health care stakeholders. This annual award is given to an early-career investigator who has made significant contributions to the field of dissemination and implementation science.

Constantine Gatsonis Ph.D.

Department of Biostatistics

gatsonisThe Boston Chapter of the American Statistical Association 2019 Mosteller Statistician of the Year Award

This award is presented to a distinguished statistician who has made exceptional contributions to the field of statistics and has shown outstanding service to the statistical community. Dr. Gatsonis was recognized at the Chapter’s celebratory dinner where he presented the talk “Radiomic Markers for Diagnosis and Prediction: Promise and Hype.”

Brandon Marshall Ph.D.

Department of Epidemiology

marshallASPPH Early Career Public Health Research Award

This annual award recognizes an outstanding early-career investigator who is a faculty member at an ASPPH member school or program of public health. Dr. Marshall was selected for his exemplary and documented scholarly accomplishments that have advanced the research mission of the School of Public Health and improved the health of the communities it serves.

Lorin Crawford Ph.D.

Department of Biostatistics

crawfordAlfred P. Sloan Foundation Early Career Fellowship

Sloan Foundation fellowships, among the oldest and most prestigious awards given to early-career scientists, are awarded annually to scholars identified as the next generation of scientific leaders. Dr. Crawford’s award will support his research building deep learning algorithms.

2019 Forbes 30 Under 30: Science

Forbes’ annual list of “bold risk-takers putting a new twist on the old tools of the trade,” includes Crawford for helping scientists to understand the complex interactions between different genetic features in order to better understand genetic disorders.

School of Public Health Seed Grants

The School of Public Health Seed Grant Program connects faculty collaborators across our research centers who have not previously worked together but have complementary interests and capabilities. The program supports new applications for external funding and builds upon the center structure to encourage faculty to come together in novel and creative ways.

Modeling the Effect of First-line Nondrug Interventions that Manage Dementia Related Behavioral Symptoms

Eric Jutkowitz, Stavroula Chrysanthopoulou, and Rowan Iskandar

Understanding the Influences of Cravings and Aversions During Pregnancy

Alison Field and Patrick Vivier

Estimating the Optimal Positivity Criterion for Lung Cancer Screening with Low-Dose Computed Tomography: A Decision Modeling Approach

Rowan Iskandar, Orestis Panagiotou, and Ilana Gareen

The Adverse Health Impacts on Families and Communities of the U.S. Opioid Overdose Epidemic

Brandon Marshall, Gregory Wellenius, and Kate Weinberger

A Virtual Senior Center Pilot Intervention to Address Social Isolation Among Homebound Older Adults

Emily Gadbois and Amy Nunn