Faculty Awards and Honors Winter 2018

The latest School of Public Health faculty awards and recognition, Winter 2018.

Linda Resnik Ph.D.

Department of Health Services, Policy and Practice

Resnik2017 Paul B. Magnuson Award

The Magnuson Award for Outstanding Achievement in Rehabilitation Research and Development is the highest honor for Department of Veterans Affairs rehabilitation investigators. It recognizes Resnik’s work with advanced upper limb prostheses, on veterans’ rehabilitation and community integration, and her leadership of the VA/Department of Defense Collaboration Guidebook for Healthcare Research.

Akilah Dulin Keita Ph.D.

Department of Behavioral and Social Sciences

DulinThe Marie O. Weil Outstanding Scholarship Award

This award recognizes outstanding scholarship published in the Journal of Community Practice. Articles are reviewed and selected by a committee comprised of ACOSA scholars based on contribution to the field, scholarly approach, and promotion of macro practice values.

Jennifer Nazareno Ph.D.

NazarenoBrown University Presidential Diversity Postdoctoral Fellow

Nazareno was named Presidential Diversity Postdoctoral Fellow in the School of Public Health and the Jonathan M. Nelson Center for Entrepreneurship. Her research centers on the impacts of economic globalization on the organizational structure of the U.S. long-term care and mental health care systems. Nazareno will teach the course Intersectionality and Health Inequities in Spring 2018.

Chris Schmid Ph.D.

Department of Biostatistics

SchmidPresident of the Society for Research Synthesis Methodology

Professor Schmid was elected President of the Society for Research Synthesis Methodology, a cross disciplinary society that supports and promotes the development and use of innovative and robust methods of research synthesis.

Nicole Alexander-Scott, MD, MPH

Department of Health Services, Policy and Practice; Department of Pediatrics; Department of Medicine; Director, Rhode Island Department of Health

alexander-scottPresident-elect of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

ASTHO members are the chief health officials in each US state. The organization develops and guides public health policy in state-based public health practice with the ultimate goal of improving the nation’s health. Alexander-Scott will spend a year working with the current president to help steer the organization before assuming that role in September 2018.

Joseph Braun Ph.D.

Department of Epidemiology

braunCollaborative on Health and the Environment: 20 Pioneers under 40 in Environmental Public Health

The Collaborative on Health and the Environment, a non-profit dedicated to educating people on how the environment impacts human health and well-being, recognized individuals whose work promises to drive environmental health science and advocacy in new directions. Braun researches whether environmental chemical exposures adversely affect infant and child health.

Medeva Ghee Ph.D.

Department of Behavioral and Social Sciences

gheeINSIGHT into Diversity’s 2017 Leaders in STEM

Ghee, executive director of the Leadership Alliance, a Brown-based consortium that supports scholars from historically underrepresented groups pursuing careers in science, technology, engineering and math, was recognized for motivating and encouraging the next generation of young people to pursue STEM education and careers.

Josiah Rich, MD, MPH

Department of Medicine, Department of Epidemiology

rich2017 Charles “Bud” Kahn, M.D. Lifetime Leadership Award

An infectious disease specialist, Rich is also the director and cofounder of the Center for Prisoner Health and Human Rights and a leader in efforts to combat opioid abuse. Joseph Garland, who nominated Rich for the Miriam Hospital award, noted his work providing care to prisoners saying he “has become a national leader in inmate health.”

Constantine Gatsonis Ph.D.

Department of Biostatistics

gatsonis2018 Marvin Zelen Leadership Award in Statistical Science

The Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health’s Zelen Leadership Award recognizes an individual who has greatly impacted the theory and practice of statistical science, contributing to the creation of an environment in which statistical science and its applications have flourished.

Research Achievement Awards

Six Brown faculty members were honored with inaugural Brown Research Achievement Awards, presented by the University’s Office of the Vice President for Research. Two of the awards went to School of Public Health faculty for their work on early life, and the end of life:

Vincent Mor Ph.D.

Department of Health Services, Policy, and Practice

morBrown University Distinguished Research Achievement Award

The Distinguished Research Achievement Award honors faculty members with exceptional records of nationally acclaimed research throughout their careers at Brown. Mor was cited for his sustained success over decades in advancing research on how the delivery of health care affects the well-being of frail and chronically ill people, particularly the elderly. He was also cited for his leadership in building an outstanding public health research program at Brown.

Joseph Braun Ph.D.

Department of Epidemiology

braunBrown University Early Career Research Achievement Award

Braun was highlighted for building a strong research program that has documented many important associations between prenatal and early life exposures to industrial toxicants, such as PFOA, and specific effects on human health including childhood adiposity and early termination of breastfeeding. He was also cited for providing excellent research mentorship.