Faculty Honors Fall 2018

The latest School of Public Health faculty awards and recognition, Fall 2018.

10th Annual Jack Mendelson Award

National Institutes on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

Peter Monti

The Jack Mendelson Award from the NIAAA honors an outstanding alcohol investigator whose clinical research makes a substantial contribution toward increasing our understanding of the effects of alcohol on health and well-being, and improving the diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of alcohol-related problems. Professor Peter Monti, Director of the Center for Alcohol and Addiction Studies in the School of Public Health, is a recognized leader in understanding the biobehavioral mechanisms that underlie addictive behavior as well as its prevention and treatment. Dr. Monti delivered the 2018 Mendelson Lecture in October  at the NIH Clinical Center, Bethesda, Maryland.

Distinguished Scientific Early Career Contribution Award

Society of Addiction Psychology


The Society of Addiction Psychology promotes advances in research, professional training, and clinical practice within a broad range of addictive behaviors including problematic use of alcohol, nicotine, and other drugs and disorders involving gambling, eating, sexual behavior, and spending. Professor Jennifer Merrill, was recognized by the Society for distinguished early scientific contributions to the field of addictions.

The Society for Research on Nicotine & Tobacco



The Society for Research on Nicotine & Tobacco is the only professional association exclusively dedicated to supporting those working across disciplines in the field of nicotine and tobacco research. With members in over 40 countries, SRNT stimulates the generation and dissemination of new knowledge concerning nicotine in all its manifestations.

Two faculty members in the Department of Behavioral and Social Sciences received recent honors from the SRNT. Professor Suzanne Colby has been elected President-elect of the Society for Research on Nicotine and Tobacco. Professor Jasjit Ahluwalia, has been named a Fellow of the Society for Research on Nicotine and TobaccoThe status of Fellow is a distinction conferred by the Society on members in recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of nicotine and tobacco research, and of service to SRNT.

Epidemiology Best Paper Award

American Geriatrics Society Annual Meeting


Professor Andrew Zullo’s paper, “Effect of Statins for Secondary Prevention on Functioning, Rehospitalization, and Mortality in Frail Older Adults,” reported his finding that, among nursing home residents, users of statins after acute myocardial infarction lived 16 days longer than nonusers over a 1-year follow-up period.   

Fellow of the Gerontological Society of America


The Gerontological Society of America is the nation’s largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to the field of aging. The status of fellow, conferred to Dr. Stefan Gravenstein, acknowledges outstanding and continuing work in gerontology, including research, teaching, administration, public service, practice, and notable participation within the organization.

Research Achievement Awards

Public health faculty were honored in 2018 by Brown University’s Office of the Vice President for Research with competitive awards.

Research Seed Funding Awards

Supporting the generation of preliminary data, and the pursuit of new directions and collaborations in research

Health Effects of Electronic Cigarettes for Harm Reduction in Smokers with HIV

PI: Patricia Cioe, Assistant Professor of Behavioral and Social Sciences (Research)
Co-Investigators: Christopher Kahler, Professor of Behavioral and Social Sciences; Jennifer Tidey, Professor of Behavioral and Social Sciences (Research)

Immunomethylomics of Head and Neck Cancer Survivorship

PI: Karl Kelsey, Professor of Epidemiology

"Right-Sizing" Opioid Prescription Post- Cesarean Delivery and Hysterectomy: Balancing Excess Medication and Patient Pain Control

PI: Patricia Risica, Associate Professor of Behavioral and Social Sciences, Associate Professor of Epidemiology
Co-PI: Kristen Matteson, Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Co-Investigators: Brandon Marshall, Associate Professor of Epidemiology; Theresa Shireman, Professor of Health Services, Policy and Practice

Richard B. Salomon Faculty Research Awards

Supporting excellence in scholarly work by funding faculty research projects deemed to be of exceptional merit

Marijuana Vaporization: An Ecological Momentary Assessment Pilot Study

Elizabeth Aston, Assistant Professor of Behavioral and Social Sciences (Research)

Deep Learning for Incomplete Data: Individualized Treatment Decisions for Breast Cancer Patients

Jon Steingrimsson, Assistant Professor of Biostatistics